Hindu Yogic Posturing called Asana

There are 7 limbs in Hindu yogic posturing, each designed to focus on a different area of yoga or meditation. Let’s discuss the three fundamental ones in detail. 1) Asana (physical posture) 2) pranayama (breath control) 3) pratyahara (control of the senses, moving the focus to the inside.)

Asana- the first limb of traditional Hindu meditation is the asana position. It is derived from the Sanskrit word “to sit.” asana brings the state of mind away from the physical to the inward self.

Yoga was originally designed to have a comfortable seat for long periods of time where one could easily meditate. Overtime, more poses were introduced into yoga and not all of them derive from Hinduism.

However, because Hindu mediation has been around longer and proven to be one of the most effective types of yoga and meditation , we will focus on that. The asana posture focuses on the physicality of the body. With practice you may be able to sit cross legged without pain. Asana itself is not that narrow. It is defined as any of the yogic postures.

The reason behind this is that it is originally the only acceptable postures in yoga, where those could sit for long periods of time in meditation. The asana postures or the yogic postures, assist in opening up the mind to a meditative state. They are used to increase hip flexibility and stimulate the chakras and the nadis. Nadis allow the energy to traverse through the body.

Chakras are the energy auras in different parts of your body. Asana is meant to be vague in positioning, because it focuses on the practitioners finding a seat, both literally and figuratively. This, brings the mind away from the physical aspect, and is the impetus of the mind looking inward. It also reinforces seated as well as standing positions in yoga and mediation.


Laura Zukerman

Owner and Founder At The Goddess Bibles A Memoir By Laura Zukerman

Becoming Your Inner Goddess

Tapping into your Inner Goddess Wisdom

Goddess On 🔥